I Heart TheSix: My Fave Toronto Places

Drake isn’t the only one who loves TO. I truly love my adopted city and was thrilled to talk up my top six places in TheSix for 24Hours. This was a hard list to narrow down, but I wanted to show some love for my neighbourhood (The Junction) as well as highlight a few destinations for bookish types.  Check the original piece out here online, or see below for links!

IMG_2238
Articulations is everything I love about the Junction in one spot: friendly, artsy, and community-minded. It is here, in their cozy studio, that I get to realize my secret dream of being an artist, at least for an hour or so. Featuring a wide range of classes for adults and kids, the annual Sketchbook challenge, and Wes Anderson-themed paint nights, Articulations is a staple in local Junction festivals and events.

Twitter: @_ARTiculations_

Instagram:  @articulations_TO

black daffodil

Black Daffodil has everything I need to walk through life as a modern Nancy Drew or Agent Carter. This vintage-inspired clothing boutique is my go-to shop for t-strap shoes, 1940s blouses, and the perfect femme fatale dress for book launches.

Twitter: @BlackDaffodil

Instagram: @blackdaffodil

beau and bauble

When I first walked into Junction gift shop The Beau & Bauble I felt like I had walked into my dream apartment. Described as ‘a treasure trove that caters to the whimsy of women of all ages,’ here you’ll find cotton-candy pink cuckoo clocks, mint-green office supplies, witty stationary, unique jewelry and a carefully curated selection of clothes that you won’t feel the slightest bit guilty about indulging in.

Twitter:  @BeauAndBauble

Instagram: @beauandbauble

baker scone
Books go best with tea and scones, and St. Clair West cafe Baker & Scone offers a wide selection of traditional (buttermilk, chive & sea salt) and more avant-garde (pear-hazelnut) faire.

Twitter: @bakerandscone 

Instagram: @bakerandscone

IMG_1601

With its perfect combination of nature and kitsch, Toronto Island is my favourite summer destination. Beaches? Check. Zoo? Check. Summer concerts? Check. But my favourite landmark is the hand-carved wooden carousel, accompanied by an honest-to-goodness Wurlitzer, that dates back to 1907 and is one of only 30 in the whole world.

0B2C5631-2D33-48D1-A3A3-61EEAAA3B513

When I’m in need of a little writerly inspiration I like to head to The Osborne Collection of Early Children’s Books, housed in the top floor of The Lillian H Smith branch of the Toronto Public Library. The collection has over 80, 000 rare and notable children’s books, featured in fascinating themed exhibits such as When Cinderella Went to the Ball: 500 Years of Fairytales. I’m also very partial to the gryphon who guards the entrance to the library, designed by Phillip H. Carter and fashioned out of bronze by Ludzer Vandermolen.

I heart TO!

2 thoughts on “I Heart TheSix: My Fave Toronto Places

Leave a Reply

