New Book Announcement: SUMMER DAYS, STARRY NIGHTS

Summer Days Cover

I am thrilled to announce a new book, Summer Days, Starry Nights, due out June 1st! This is my love letter to summer, the 1960s, and growing up. Pretty much all of my favourite bookish things in one novel! I am beyond thrilled with this gorgeous cover, which captures the essence of the novel beautifully.

Summer Days, Starry Nights is the story of 14 year old Reenie Starr, who loves her family’s summer resort, Sandy Shores, more than anything else on earth. The resort falls on hard times the summer of 1962, so the Starrs decide to hire a young dancer from the city to come up and run an entertainment program. When 17 year old Gwendolyn Cates arrives, Reenie is starstruck by her glamorous looks and exciting lifestyle. But Gwendolyn is not exactly who she seems to be, and her arrival sets off a series of events that will change Reenie’s life forever.

Hmm, you’re thinking. That sounds kind of like the movie Dirty Dancing.

dirty-dancing

I have been known to describe the book as ‘Dirty Dancing without the Dirty.’ There are some similarities in that it takes place on a summer resort during the same time period and is very much about the music and culture of the 1960s, however Reenie is significantly younger than Baby (aka Frances) and Summer Days, Starry Nights is more about friendship and family than romance. But there is some romance. And secret letters. And missing persons. And campfires. And late night dance parties…

Summer Days, Starry Nights will be available in June, 2013. Just in time for summer reading! You can pre-order on Amazon, Indigo, or visit your local bookstore. I will also be throwing a super-fun 60s style launch party in Toronto, which you are all invited to! More details to come.

I can’t wait to share this book with you!

 

19 thoughts on “New Book Announcement: SUMMER DAYS, STARRY NIGHTS

  1. Geneviève says:

    It sounds great! I cannot wait to read it! To bad I’m not in Toronto… I would have loved to go to the party!!

  2. Kim Van Sickler says:

    I have to imagine we’re related somehow–way back probably. My dad, the amateur genealogist, says all of us with similar spellings are. Anyhow good luck with the book. I will have to get my hands on it as a gift to my sister, who actually lives in Lake Lure, NC, (where a chunk of Dirty Dancing was filmed), has given the Patrick Swayze tour to guests, and who LOVES that movie.

  3. tanya t says:

    Hi, Vikki! Just turned the last page of Summer Days, Starry Nights…LOVE LOVE LOVE. Reenie immediately found her way into my heart. I think everyone should visit Sandy Shores at least once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

