Vikki VanSickle on Writing, Reading & Other Pipedreams

Everything I need to know in life, I learned from children's literature

What Makes a Great Book Trailer?

on November 21, 2012

I’m holding a book trailer contest for kids in grades 4+. The winning trailer will be the OFFICIAL trailer for Days That End in Y (due out in February) and the winning filmmaker will get all sorts of fun stuff like signed books, a prize package from Scholastic Canada, and his/her school will win an author visit from me!

For inspiration I thought I would give some examples of really cool trailers.


It helps that this book has awesome graphics from Seth, which are perfect source material for an animated trailer. This is also a great example of an effective and simple voice-over.


This is a simple concept, extremely well done. No actors, no voice over, just images and music in a perfect combination. I know it got my heart racing!


This one always makes me tear up a little. I blame the haunting cello in the background. Again, this is a very simple concept, featuring still artwork and quotations.


Here is an example of a live action trailer, featuring actors. What I love about this trailer is that it gives a sense of the book while not actually being a scene, requiring actors to memorize lines, perform stunts, or do anything too crazy. Simple and effective!

 For more tips, hints, and trailers visit:

The Director’s Cut -Check out some book trailers made by students!

Scholastic Videos in the Stacks– Check out some book trailers from Scholastic US!

Book Trailers for Readers – Check out some book trailers made by a librarian in the US!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,245 other followers

