TD Book Week: Day One

Here I am in sunny Saskatchewan, which certainly lived up to that moniker today! My book week is off to a wonderful start, with bright skies and lots of eager readers. Today brought me to The Chapel Gallery in North Battleford. What a beautiful space to present in, featuring art by local artists. I had a chance to find out about the reading and literacy programs in the schools and even discovered that my books are on the reading list!

In Neilburg, I had a lot of fun with the students who despite the gorgeous weather, were happy to hang out with me in the gymnasium chatting about Grandmas with a gambling habit and a poor romantic backpacker who is about to get his heart broken. I guess you had to be there.

Best Driving Song of the Day: Star Baby by The Guess Who, which leads me to…

The Most Played Artist on the Radio: Three way tie between Heart, The Guess Who, and Sloan. Way to go, SK radio programmers. Such quality Can Con! In TO it would have been a toss up between Katy Perry or Adele, every hour on the hour.

Wildlife Sightings: One gopher, who had the good sense to get out of my car’s way; two wild dogs running through the prairie, which was very poetic and made me think of Joni Mitchell; and one deer ( I’m not counting livestock. There’s lots of that in Southwestern Ontario.)

Best Student Exchange:

Captain Question: How many kids do you have?

Me: None

CQ: Are you married?

Me: Nope

CQ: How old are you?

Me: Thirty

My New Best Friend: Leave her alone! She has lots of good years left!

Ha! So true! Thanks for a great day one. Looking forward to tomorrow!

In the meantime, check out Ten Stories Up to meet the authors of Book Week 2012

2 thoughts on “TD Book Week: Day One

  1. Geneviève says:

    Cool! I lived in North Battleford more than 10 years ago. I was 18 and kids were asking the same questions about kids and marriage!

Leave a Reply

