Author About Town! Upcoming Events

The fall literary season may be over but that doesn’t mean the fun has to stop! My dance card is full of great upcoming events:

First up, Family Literacy Day on January 27th. I will be hosting a workshop at a YMCA in Toronto in conjunction with ABC Literacy For Life. Books are just the beginning of a long, healthy relationship with literacy. I miss my daily kid contact, and therefore can’t wait to roll up my sleeves and have fun playing some of my favourite word games!

The Ontario Library Association Super Conference is just around the corner. I am pleased as punch to be doing double duty as an author and a publicist. Please stop by the HarperCollins Canada booth to find out about great children’s and YA titles, check out the Why We Broke Up wall, and snag some of our amazing book giveaways. On Friday, February 3rd drop by the Another Story booth at 1pm where I will be donning my author hat and signing copies of my own book, Love is a Four-Letter Word.

Interested in writing? Enjoy a delicious prepared breakfast? Be sure to sign up for the Writer’s Community of Durham Region’s February Breakfast Meeting. On February 11th I will be the guest speaker, talking about the benefits of total immersion in an industry and the intersection of writing, bookselling and publishing. Check out their site for more information and to register.

Later that same day I am pleased to be hosting Children’s Story Jam, a new Small Print Toronto initiative that gives authors the opportunity to workshop new work with kids in the right age range. The series kicks off on February 11th featuring Canadian Icon Dennis Lee. If you know a 4 to 6 year old who loves poetry, be sure to sign them up. Click here for more information.

It’s not every day a girl gets invited to a ball, so I am very much looking forward to the Book Lover’s Ball, a fundraising event for the Toronto Public Library that not only celebrates books, but fashion, too. Throw a chocolate milkshake on that list and it’s my perfect evening. If you’re looking to support the TPL (and in this municipal climate they need your support more than ever) you should dust off your fancy shoes and come! We can hang out!  Click here to register.

2 thoughts on “Author About Town! Upcoming Events

Leave a Reply

