LOVE Book Launch (Toronto): A Photo Essay

Two Good Lookin' Books...

There was a whole lot of love at the Toronto launch of Love is a Four-Letter Word. It was wonderful to see so many friendly faces. In addition to the regular launch fun, I am proud to announce that a  total of $230 was raised for DayofPink’s anti-bullying, homophobia and discrimination initiatives. To celebrate, here is a photo essay…

 

First up, the cupcakes. Look at those works of baked art! They tasted even better than they looked. Thanks to Bonnie and Tiffany Clayton for whipping up this lovely purple treat.

Take a look at all of those books! This is the before pile and I’m thrilled to say that many of these books went home with readers. Thanks to Mandy and Eleanor at Mable’s Fables for mastering the book sales. For those of you who missed out on the launch but would still like a signed copy, head on over to this fabulous children’s bookstore and pick up a copy!

The turnout was incredible- check out the view from the wings! And yes, that’s black light. It was a very rock n’ roll kind of event.

Once again, I was honoured to have so many incredibly talented performers come share in all the love. See how much fun Sef Wood is having? Also pictured is the fabulous accompanist, Shari Porter.

Instead of listening to me read a chapter, I adapted chapter two of my book into reader’s theatre and cast the most wonderful group of actors to play the roles. Here they are, doing me proud.

Here is a shot of people being very patient, waiting to get their books signed.

And here I am signing, barely containing my excitement!

It truly was a LOVEly experience. Thank you to everyone who came out, performers, friends, family, readers, new friends- I definitely felt the love. Looking forward to next week’s Vancouver Kidsbooks event; west coast, here I come!

Thanks also to Debbie Ohi, Shari Porter and Allison Cross for the photos.

5 thoughts on “LOVE Book Launch (Toronto): A Photo Essay

  1. Laura Fabiani says:

    Would love to see you in Montreal! My daughter and I are excited you have another book out. Congrats on such a LOVEly book launch. Those purple cupcakes look so delicious! And it looks like you had a wonderful time meeting your fans.

  2. vikkivansickle says:

    Bev- first ever, but probably not the last…
    Laura- I would love to come to Montreal! I will be sure to let you know when I’m in your area. I hope you and your daughter enjoy LOVE as much as I enjoyed writing it!

  3. Adrienne says:

    Looks SO awesome! And the cupcakes beyond yummy. I’m so sorry I had to miss it, but clearly my presence wasn’t exactly needed to beef out the crowd. Congrats on the book, the turnout, and what was clearly an amazing event!

Leave a Reply

