BOOK LAUNCH: Love is a Four-Letter Word

It’s that time again! BOOK LAUNCH TIME! Get your calendars out and draw a big red circle around Monday, September 12th; that is the day I am celebrating the release of my sequel, Love is a Four-Letter Word, and I want YOU to join me at Breakout Studios, from 6:30-8:30, for all kinds of book-related fun.

I am having so much fun planning the launch for Love is a Four-Letter Word, but it will pale in comparison to the fun you will have at the actual event. Why, you ask? Because why have a QUIET launch when I can throw a musical, family-friendly community extravaganza full of all the things I LOVE? Here is a sample of what you can look forward to…

MUSIC! Once again, I have gathered a talented ensemble of up-and-coming musical theatre performers to take part in the LOVE Cabaret. You will be blown away by their talent and enthusiasm. Plus this may be the last chance you get to see these performers for absolutely NO ADMISSION COST!

Rob Kempson, just one of many talented singers performing in the LOVE Cabaret

THEATRE! I have adapted a chapter of Love is a Four-Letter Word into a scene, which will be read by a combination of professional, adult actors and local Leaside teens. First stop Breakout Studios, next stop Broadway?

From Page to Stage!

FOOD! Because no event is complete without refreshments, including delicious, homemade cupcakes. Last year’s Cupcake Queens are back by popular demand with even MORE delicious treats!

The Cupcake Queens with last year's treats!

LOVE IS PINK CHALLENGE! I am partnering with the good folks at DayofPink/Jer’s Vision, an organization that creates anti-bullying initiatives for schools. Participation in the Love is Pink challenge is easy, fun, and helps promote a Canadian charity dedicated to stopping intolerance.

Here is how it works: I will personally donate $1 every time the word LOVE is spoken (or sung) aloud during the performance portion of the event. I am asking people to match my donation and 100% of the proceeds will be sent directly to Jer’s Vision to support their initiatives. This means if the word is spoken 65 times and 15 people join me in the challenge, DayofPink will receive a $1040.00! This is an issue that is near and dear to my heart, and I urge you all to join me in supporting this home-grown organization!

And of course, BOOKS! Copies of Love is a Four-Letter Word will be sold by local and beloved children’s bookstore, Mabel’s Fables. I will be signing books following the performances.

An epic book launch requires an epic space, and I am so excited to be holding the event in the brand-spanking new Breakout Studios at 1541 Bayview Avenue on the east side of the street, near Belsize Drive.

This jazzy space has a whole list of exciting arts and youth related initiatives, and you know how I love arts and youth! Check out  blog to find out about camps, after school programs, and other events.

Doesn’t that sound fun? Aren’t you excited? Don’t you want to invite everyone you know? Here’s your chance to spread the WORD! Tell your friends, family, teachers, and neighbours! I’d love to see you there on September 12th, 6:30-8:30.

Below is the official invite. Feel free to download it and send it along to anyone who might be interested:

Love is a Four Letter Word. Launch Invite

3 thoughts on “BOOK LAUNCH: Love is a Four-Letter Word

  1. Steph says:

    I am so sad that I cannot come this year. Last year’s was so fun and great! I’m so proud of you and I will be there next year! 🙂 FLQ all the way! (Not the organization; they’re terrorists. But you know what I mean.)

  2. Geneviève says:

    Looks like a great launch, Vikki, but a bit far from home for me! I wish you all the best for that night, and I’ll see you in Vancouver later in September!

Leave a Reply

