B is for Breaking News: Awards, Visits, and Events!

CBA Libris Awards, 2011

Firstly, I am so pleased to be the recipient of the 2011 Young Bookseller of the Year Award, presented by Chase Paymentech at the CBA Libris Awards this past Saturday. I love what I do, and I would not be where I am without the love, support, and infinite wisdom of my colleagues, particularly Cathy Francis and Nina McCreath who welcomed me into their wonderful store. I was doubly pleased when the store took home the prize for Specialty Bookstore of the Year. As Nina said in her lovely speech, it is difficult to describe the magic that is The Flying Dragon Bookshop; it truly is something you need to experience first hand.

B is for brainstorming at the Downsview Branch of TPL

This week I also dropped by the Downsview branch of the Toronto Public Library to visit with a brilliant group of grade 4 and 5 students. We chatted about writer’s block, magnificent monkey-shaped macaroni, did some character work, and had a great time. Thanks to librarians Jessica and Ryan for making me feel so welcome!

Lastly, I am thrilled to be moderating a discussion between YA authors Lauren Oliver and Veronica Roth this Thursday, May 19th at the Forest Hill branch of the Toronto Public Library as part of HarperCollins’ Dystopian Tour 2011. I am a big fan of both Delirium and Divergent, and can’t wait to hear more about the stories behind the stories.

Leave a Reply

