Things I am Looking Forward To

Match made in movie heaven!

This Caldecott award winner is unlike any book you’ve ever read. Using elements of the novel, screenplay, and graphic novel, Brian Selznick has created a truly unique reading experience that is coming soon to a theatre near you. This was always going to be a cool movie, but throw in the fact that Martin Scorsese is directing and the cast is stellar, featuring Johnny Depp, Chloe Moretz, Ben Kingsley, Sacha Baron Cohen, Richard Griffiths, Jude Law, Emily Mortimer (to name a few) and I CANNOT WAIT for it’s fall release. This photo just fans the flames of excitement.

This is quite literally the book of my dreams

Also coming later this year is The Chronicles of Harris Burdick. Maybe you don’t know about The Mysteries of Harris Burdick, by Chris Van Allsburg. If so, RUN- don’t walk- to your nearest bookstore or library and get yourself a copy. I think everyone should know about this book. It is one of my favourite books of all time, regardless of genre or format. I have used it countless times for writing exercises and for my own inspiration. I remember a librarian presenting the book in grade two, talking about Harris Burdick and the missing stories and I swear that was the moment I wanted to become a writer. Now a complete and utter GENIUS has compiled a collection of short stories inspired by The Mysteries of Harris Burdick, and the list of authors is outstanding: Sherman Alexie, M.T. Anderson, Kate DiCamillo, Cory Doctorow, Jules Feiffer, Stephen King, Tabitha King, Lois Lowry, Gregory Maguire, Walter Dean Myers, Linda Sue Park, Louis Sachar, Jon Scieszka, Lemony Snicket, and Chris Van Allsburg. Are you salivating yet?

For more information, check out the Houghton Mifflin Harcourt website.

SO MUCH to look forward to!

2 thoughts on “Things I am Looking Forward To

  1. Steph says:

    Oh my! I haven’t read the first one, but I will now.

    Harris Burdick is really one of the most unsettling books of all time…I love its mystery. Do you think that reading other people’s interpretations of the images and taglines will ruin the imaginary aspect for everyone?

    • vikkivansickle says:

      Hmm. Good question. I hope not. I hope that it demonstrates how you can build a story out of so little, therefore inspiring kids to try doing so themselves. I love exercises where everyone is given a similar prompt and then hearing all the various directions people take it. In my experience kids are amazed at how different everyone’s approaches are.

Leave a Reply

