More Local Love

Words That Start With B Selected as 2011 Woodstock Reads Children's Pick!

I sure have been feeling the love from my hometown this week. First up, a great interview with John and Liz, hosts of the morning show at Heart FM 104.7. Check out the podcast of the interview here.

I was also thrilled that Words That Start With B was selected by the Woodstock Public Library as their children’s pick for the 2011 Woodstock Reads program. I am honoured to be selected by a library that I have spent hours in as a child and teen growing up in Woodstock. I was such a big reader that for many years the children’s librarian at the time kept my library card behind the checkout desk for quick and easy scanning. I also spent an excellent summer as the children’s summer programmer, under the tutelage of Darlene Pretty, one of the most amazing children’s librarians I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing and working with. Check out the article in Friday’s Sentinel Review here.

8 thoughts on “More Local Love

  1. Laura Best says:

    It’s so nice to have the support from our own communities..You are fortunate. Congratulations on the publication of your book, “Words That Start With B”..I wish you much success with it!

  2. Dan Frank says:

    Congratulations! Sorry I missed your book signing ( I no longer live in Woodstock). If I’d known about it I would have come to it. So nice to see a former student diong what she loves! Hope to buy one of the signed books this week. So tell me, have you kept all of you writng from your student days?

  3. angie says:

    Hi Vikki Vansickle,

    i really really liked your book i knew about your book from my favorite website and my favorite teacher Mr B i knew i had to get it because he always has a good taste in books. I loved the cover of your book it is beautiful. If you write another book I will be the first to get it. You are a great author!!!! Keep it up!!!!!! Happy Holidays!!!!!

    From Angie

    • vikkivansickle says:

      Hi Angie, I’m so pleased you enjoyed the book! It’s great to hear you have such a great teacher who has clearly been keeping you in good books! Thanks again for your encouraging words 🙂

Leave a Reply

