B is for barely contained excitement: BOOK LAUNCH DAY!

Expect variations of this happy face all night long

I apologize in advance for the number of exclamation marks in this post. Even my punctuation is excited this morning. Why? Because tonight is the night! BOOK LAUNCH NIGHT! Somehow I  managed to get a decent sleep and now all I have to do is make it through the rest of the day. I may actually go for a RUN, which shows you just how excited I am. One has to use up all that anticipatory energy somehow. I could also try on my dress a few times. Or put some bad pop music on my stereo really loud and dance around my apartment. Who am I kidding? I will probably do all three. 

For a writer, a book launch is a strange combination of debutante ball, baby shower, and wedding. You may scoff, but think about it. This is my formal introduction to the literary world, in which I present my “baby” to friends, family, and (hopefully) friendly strangers. Everyone will coo over it and say congratulations. There is a reception featuring food, drinks, and a receiving line of sorts.  And, of course, I bought a dress for the occasion.  A reasonably priced dress that I will for sure wear again, but a dress nonetheless. All this considered, you can understand my excitement.

The fun begins at 7pm, starting with a cabaret featuring an impressive list of musical theatre performers, followed by a reading and signing by yours truly. Throughout the night there will be food and merriment and a very impressive silent auction (if I do say so myself). Remember that I am donating 100% of the proceeds from the silent auction to The Breast Cancer Society of Cancer– so please bid, and bid often! Books will be available, coming to a total of $9.44 each (cash only, please). Everyone is welcome to join in the fun! 

In short: Book launch. Supermarket in Kensington. 7pm tonight = Best. Night. Ever.

Directions to Supermarket can be found here.

One thought on “B is for barely contained excitement: BOOK LAUNCH DAY!

  1. Jen says:

    Hey Vikki,

    Hope the launch went great! Sounds like it was going to be a blast. I wish I could have been there. 🙂 Just saw the great review in the Quill. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

