Who’s Interested in a Carnegie/Greenaway Winners Pool?

How can you resist this cover?

Two major children’s lit award shortlists were announced this weekend. I love the UK award lists; their selections are always varied and I’ve generally read more than half of them. Confession: I am a bit of an Anglophile, at least when it comes to children’s fiction.

On the CILIP Carnegie side of things, there is some stiff, stiff competition. I wouldn’t want to be part of the panel that decides which of those books takes the crown. The dark horse for me is Helen Grant’s The Vanishing of Katharina Linden, which is very European in style and tone. In a nutshell, the book is a mystery set in a small German town in which young girls are disappearing. I found this book chilling and strangely compelling. The tone is set in the very first chapter, in which the narrator describes how a relative spontaneously combusts during a family gathering. The atmosphere is relentlessly ominous, which may not suit everyone’s reading tastes, but makes for suspenseful reading.

As for the Kate Greenaway Medal, I’m cheering for the delightful There Are Cats in this Book by Viviane Schwatrz. Just try reading it without laughing. In this fantastic read aloud, a trio of colourful, frisky kittens cajoles the reader into playing with them by turning pages, blowing on their fur and playing hide and seek. In short, these fictional felines have humans at their beck and call. Just like real cats.  

Neil Gaiman’s Newbery-award winning The Graveyard Book shows up on both lists. I’m particularly happy for Chris Riddell, who’s illustrations are as integral to the novel as Gaiman’s text. Riddell’s robots gone wild picture book Wendell’s Workshop is one of my go-to picture book standards, so I’m pleased to see him getting recognition.

Of course I always love to compare the UK covers to the Canadian or North American covers. I think it’s interesting that the UK cover of Phillip Reeve’s Fever Crumb explicitly links this stand-alone to the world of Mortal Engines. The Canadian cover  is much darker and features a very Natalie-Portman-in V-for-Vendetta image. I’m hardpressed to say which cover is more effective. Either way, this is a great book and could also take top prize. Winners of both medals will be announced on June 24th; time to get reading!

2 thoughts on “Who’s Interested in a Carnegie/Greenaway Winners Pool?

  1. Ash says:

    It’s partially informed by bias – but I’d have to cast my vote for Terry Pratchett. It was my first foray into his Y.A. work, and I was utterly moved. Renowned for wit and sharp-shooting satire, Pratchett’s social concerns ring gentler but still true in ‘Nation’. Poignant coming-of-age dressed with the clash of cultures (and the often painful questioning of one’s own beliefs and worldview in the wake of catastrophe), and set in a closely parallel 19th century world, the work is both sobering and hopeful. Also, while it does read like he’s passing on the torch (to whomever is receptive), it manages to do so without ever feeling didactic.

    …clearly, I liked it. Then again, he did win in 2001…

    I’ll second your vote for ‘There are Cats in this Book’!!

    • vikkivansickle says:

      Like I said, it’s a tough category to pick a winner. Pratchett is more than deserving of all the honours and accolades he seems to accumulate. I admit I still need to read Nation…oh, for shame.

Leave a Reply

