A Word That Starts With B: Beautiful!

Love, love, love!

Here it is, the cover of my first book, Words That Start with B! HUGE kudos to the geniuses at Scholastic Canada who are responsible for such a fantastic work of cover art. I love it! More importantly, I think kids will love it, too. The cover is the biggest selling point of a book; it must be unique, enticing, and speak to the story. This is no small feat, and I do not envy the job of a book designer.

I’ll admit, until I saw it, I spent many hours agonizing over the cover. This is my baby, afterall. So much hangs on how a cover is received by it’s intended audience. Don’t believe what they say about not judging a book by it’s cover- I do it (and I should know better), you do it, and kids certainly do it. I can handsell a book with every ounce of enthusiasm I’ve got, but if the cover isn’t up to snuff, I’ve got my work cut out for me. Kids are hyper-sensitive when it comes to appearances, and no one wants to be caught reading a book that looks too girly, too sappy, too childish, too whatever. Especially in the 9-12 age range.  But this, this is pure genius!

I am particularly fond of the pink, and not just because it is the same shade as my own funky specs:

Every savvy author knows that when accessorizing, glasses must match book cover

This shade of pink says girl story, but not girly- which is right on the mark. Pairing it with the black not only makes it stand out visually, but hints at some darker moments in the book. Am I overanalyzing? Probably. But like I said, this is my baby! One of my greatest fears was that the designer would slap a photograph of a girl on the cover. I am not a fan of photographic covers. They become dated far too quickly and more often than not feature Pretty White Kids that have little to do with the story.  This illustration is current, a litte edgy, and just right.

You can check out this awesome cover yourself when Words That Start With B is released this September.

5 thoughts on “A Word That Starts With B: Beautiful!

  1. Susan says:

    Hey, I totally agree that pink and black make the best book covers! (think, your book and mine, side by side!) Congrats Viki. I can’t wait to read Words that Start with B, and I’m beginning my own mental list of what those words might be.
    Susan

  2. Grace says:

    I know I’m late to the party but eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! So so so exciting! Great jacket image, great font, great glasses, great book!

    PS Hooray for Evan Munday references! (though the image, sadly, is not a Mr. Munday original to my knowledge)

Leave a Reply

