Living the (pipe)dream: Part One

File this one under shameless self-promotion; My first children’s novel, Words That Start with B, is all set to be released this fall from Scholastic Canada!!! One exclamation mark is not nearly enough punctuation to convey how over-the-moon excited I am.

I have been writing in some form or another as long as I can remember. It wasn’t until taking a writing for children course with wonderful teacher and writer Alison Acheson at the University of British Columbia that I thought it was a dream I could actually realize. In the two courses I took with Alison I was introduced to amazing books and writers that gave me the confidence to pursue what was previously a pipedream. I came away from UBC with skills and a support group that inspires and challenges me to keep writing. Three years later, I have a book contract.

Yesterday my first round of edits arrived and I am thrilled to be a working author. I am lucky to be supported by the amazing team at Scholastic Canada, who thus far have made the process smooth and painless. I am excited to see where this journey takes me. Stay tuned for more updates!

6 thoughts on “Living the (pipe)dream: Part One

  1. Sue Meggs-Becker says:

    If your prose is as enjoyable to read as your blogs you’ll be winning a big audience. Bravo to you Vicki, as you’ve said, until recently it was but a pipedream to be published. So hang on to that pipe and enjoy the ride!

  2. Kelly McKinnon says:

    Hi Vikki
    Maybe you remember me. I wandered into the Flying Dragon a couple of years ago from Vancouver Kidsbooks and you gave a me warm welcome and a great tour of the lovely store. I certainly remember you as the bookseller with great taste and winning charm. My SSC rep forwarded your blog post on the new Holly Black but this post is far more interesting. Congratulations!! We will do our best to promote your book on the west coast. I subscribed to your blog and look forward to seeing what you are up to…..
    Cheers
    Kelly

  3. Nina says:

    We are very pleased and proud to have you Vikki as “Writer In Residence” at the Flying Dragon!

    Congratulations on a wish come true.

Leave a Reply

