Vikki VanSickle on Writing, Reading & Other Pipedreams

Everything I need to know in life, I learned from children's literature

Three Cheers for The Melancholic Mermaid!

on May 28, 2010

Note: this cover art is not final, but it sure is gorgeous!

My beautiful and talented friend Kallie George has a picture book coming out this fall. She is my Vancouver soulmate and partner in crime when it comes to writing and I could not be more thrilled for her, especially after seeing the illustrations. Check this out!

Having read earlier versions of this poignant fairytale about a circus boy and a lonely mermaid, I know the story will be tender and unique and Kallie’s word choice is always sublime, but this artwork really puts the icing on the cake. I can’t wait to share The Melancholic Mermaid with my friends and customers this fall. Congrats, Kallie!

2 responses to “Three Cheers for The Melancholic Mermaid!

  1. Awesome! I’m looking forward to this one, too! :)

  2. Anne says:

    I’m so excited that a generation of young readers will be running about using the word “melancholic” in everyday speech. This looks beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,900 other followers

